Broadband Task Force

Next Broadband Task Force Meeting via Zoom. Click to register.

The Orange County Board of Commissioners adopted a charge for the task force:

  1. Discuss broadband solutions that will improve the quality of high speed internet services to Orange County residents
  2. Recommend a plan to the Board of Orange County Commissioners that will expand reliable high-speed internet services to all County residents and businesses.

The task force may consider other issues not related to items 1 or 2, at its discretion. 

If you have any comments or questions, please email Jim Northrup at


The appointed members are: Vasu Kilaru, Paul Cardillo, Todd Broucksou, Patricia Hull and Terri Buckner. These five were chosen from among 35 applicants.

Commissioners Earl McKee, who petitioned for the creation of the task force, and Sally Greene were chosen to represent the BOCC on the 12-member task force.  The other members are: Deputy County Manager Travis Myren, Doug Noell, Chief IT Operations Officer Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools, Dr. Monique Felder or Dr. Kathleen Dawson of Orange County Public Schools, Keith Conover, NC Broadband Infrastructure Office (NC BIO), and Victoria P. Deaton, Compliance Specialist Office of Institutional Equity and Inclusion at Durham Tech.

Meeting Information

5:30 p.m. every other Wednesday of each month

A Zoom registration link will be provided before each meeting.  Check the Meetings page for more details.

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 

The first meeting of the Broadband Task Force was on March 3, 2021