
S C H O O L  I M M U N I Z A T I O N S

The North Carolina General Statutes 
(G.S. 130-A-152(a)) require immunizations for every 
child present in this state. Every parent, guardian 
or person in loco parentis is responsible for ensuring 
that their child(ren) receive required immunizations.

DTP/DTAP (5 doses)

Second booster on/after fourth birthday, before 
enrolling in K-1 for first time; if a fourth dose 
of DTP/DTAP was administered on/after the 
fourth birthday, a fifth dose is not required.  

Polio (4 doses)

Booster before enrolling in K-1 for first time 
(Note:  Effective October 1, 2005, the requirement for a fourth 
dose of polio to be given on or after the fourth birthday has been 
eliminated); if a third dose of polio was administered on/after the 
fourth birthday, a fourth dose is not required).

Rubella (1 dose)

One dose on/after age 12 months

Hib (1 dose)

Vaccine not required if individual passed 5th 
birthday; number of doses required varies by age 
(see complete law reference)

Mumps (1 or 2 doses)
One dose on/after age 12 months. Individuals entering school for the first 
time on or after July 1, 2008 required to have second mumps vaccine.

Tdap (1 dose)
1 booster dose of Tdap required for those entering 6th grade on or after 
August 1, 2008 if 5 years or more since last dose of tetanus/diphtheria toxoid.

Hepatitis B (3 doses)
Students born before 7/01/94 are not required to have Hepatitis B vaccine.  
3 doses if born on or after 7/01/94.

Measles (2 doses)
One dose on/after age 12 months, second dose at least 28 days later and 
before enrolling K-1 first time after 7/1/94.

Varicella (1 dose)
Students born on/after 4/01/01 are required to have one dose 
of varicella vaccine administered on/after 12 months of age. 
Students born before 4/01/01 are not required to receive varicella vaccine.
(Students affected by this requirement will begin entering kindergarten for the first time 
during School Year 2006-07)State of North Carolina
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Pre-K Pre-K K 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th

Age 2 to 3 3 to 4 4 to 5 5 to 6 6 to 7 7 to 8 8 to 9 9 to 10 10 to 11 11 to 12 12 to 13 13 to 14 14 to 15 15 to 16 16 to 17 17 to 18
Year Entered “K” 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996
Year Entered “6th” 2008
DOB at “K” Entry 10/17/05

10/16/06
10/17/04
10/16/05

10/17/03
10/16/04

10/17/02
10/16/03

10/17/01
10/16/02

10/17/00
10/16/01

10/17/99
10/16/00

10/17/98
10/16/99

10/17/97
10/16/98

10/17/96
10/16/97

10/17/95
10/16/96

10/17/94
10/16/95

10/17/93
10/16/94

10/17/92
10/16/93

10/17/91
10/16/92

10/17/90
10/16/91

Rule Group A A A A B** B* C C C D C C E 
(and C) E E E

Required to have 2 doses of measles vaccine if enrolled in school (K-1) after 7/1/1994
       Required to have 3 doses of hepatitis B vaccine if born on/after 7/1/1994

Required to have 1 dose of varicella vaccine 
if born on/after 4/1/2001

2nd 
mumps

Tdap
All students        See NC Administrative Code for specific requirements and exceptions: DTaP/DT/Td; Polio; Measles; Mumps; Rubella; Hib; Hepatitis B; Varicella

Rule Changes Affecting School Grade Cohort:
A			   Individual entering school for first time on or after July 1, 2008 required to have second mumps vaccine
B			   Required to have 1 dose of varicella vaccine if born on/after 4/1/01
			   *Note: Students born on or after 4/1/01 are required to have 1 dose of varicella vaccine.  Students affected will enter kindergarten for the first time in School Year 2006-07.
			   **Note: If final dose of hepatitis B vaccine was administered on/after 5/17/02 and was administered before the child was 24 weeks (6 months of age), a repeat dose will be required. 
			   Students affected will enter kindergarten for the first time in School Year 2007-08.

C			   Required to have 3 doses of hepatitis B vaccine if born on/after 7/1/94
D			   Booster dose of Tdap required for those entering 6th grade on or after August 1, 2008 if 5 years or more since last dose of tetanus/diphtheria toxoid
E			   Required to have 2 doses of measles vaccine if enrolled in school (K-1) after 7/1/94.  Hepatitis B vaccine is not required if born before 7/1/94
All students		  See NC Administrative Code for specific requirements and exceptions: DTaP/DT/Td; Polio; Measles; Mumps; Rubella; Hib; Hepatitis B; Varicella
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Age 2 to 3 3 to 4 4 to 5 5 to 6 6 to 7 7 to 8 8 to 9 9 to 10 10 to 11 11 to 12 12 to 13 13 to 14 14 to 15 15 to 16 16 to 17 17 to 18
Year Entered “K” 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997
Year Entered “6th” 2009 2008
DOB at “K” Entry 10/17/06

10/16/07
10/17/05
10/16/06
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Rule Group A A A A A B B C C D D C C E (and 
few C) E E

Required to have 2 doses of measles vaccine if enrolled in school (K-1) after 7/1/1994
       Required to have 3 doses of hepatitis B vaccine if born on/after 7/1/1994

Required to have 1 dose of varicella vaccine 
if born on/after 4/1/2001

2nd mumps

Tdap
All students        See NC Administrative Code for specific requirements and exceptions: DTaP/DT/Td; Polio; Measles; Mumps; Rubella; Hib; Hepatitis B; Varicella


