more news

Holiday Schedule

Request email notification when page changes Email me page updates

The Orange County Municipal Solid Waste Landfill closed on June 30, 2013.  Orange County continues to operate a Construction and Demolition Landfill and ancillary services such as household hazardous waste collection, recycling processing facility, and mulch sales at the 1514 Eubanks Road facility.  The schedule for these services is referred to below as "C&D Landfill".

Click here for the curbside recycling holiday schedule.

2016 HOLIDAY SCHEDULE: 

SWMD Administration, C & D Landfill and Solid Waste Convenience Centers

Holiday Day/Date Administrative Office  C&D Landfill* Convenience Centers**

Martin Luther King Day

Monday, January 18

CLOSED

CLOSED

CLOSED

Good Friday

Friday, March 25

CLOSED CLOSED

OPEN

Easter Sunday Sunday, March 27 N/A N/A CLOSED
Memorial Day

Monday, May 30

CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED

Independence Day

Monday, July 4

CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED

Labor Day

Monday, September 5

CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED

Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 24

CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED

Thanksgiving (Observed)

Friday, November 25

CLOSED CLOSED

OPEN

Christmas Holiday (Observed)

Friday,  December 23

CLOSED OPEN

OPEN

 Christmas Eve 

Saturday, December 24 

CLOSED  CLOSED CLOSING AT 
12 NOON

Christmas Day

Sunday, December 25

CLOSED CLOSED CLOSED
Christmas Holiday (Observed) Monday, December 26 CLOSED CLOSED OPEN
Christmas Holiday (Observed) Tuesday, December 27 CLOSED OPEN  OPEN 

New Years Day

Sunday, January 1, 2017

N/A N/A

CLOSED

 New Years Day    (Observed)

Monday, January 2, 2017 

CLOSED  OPEN 

OPEN 

*Landfill closes at noon on Saturdays. The Construction and Demolition landfill schedule includes services such as mulch sales and the hazardous household waste collection facility at 1514 Eubanks Rd. in Chapel Hill.

**Only Eubanks Rd. and Walnut Grove Church Rd. Solid Waste Convenience Center locations are open on Mondays and Thursdays. All Centers are closed every Wednesday.

N/A- Location is always closed on this day of the week.

2016 HOLIDAY SCHEDULE CURBSIDE RECYCLING

Holiday Day/Date Urban Curbside (collected weekly) Rural Curbside  (every other week)

Martin Luther King Birthday

Monday, January 18

REGULAR SCHEDULE REGULAR SCHEDULE

Good Friday

Friday, March 25 

REGULAR SCHEDULE REGULAR SCHEDULE
Memorial Day

Monday, May 30

REGULAR SCHEDULE REGULAR SCHEDULE

Independence Day

Monday, July 4

REGULAR SCHEDULE REGULAR SCHEDULE

Labor Day

Monday, September 5

REGULAR SCHEDULE REGULAR SCHEDULE

Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 24

NO COLLECTION! MAKE-UP DAY IS SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 26 NO COLLECTION! MAKE-UP DAY IS SATURDAY NOVEMBER 26
Christmas Sunday, December 25 N/A N/A

New Years Day

Friday, January 1, 2016

N/A

N/A