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Important NC Traffic Laws Applicable to Bicyclists 
Source: BikeWalk NC 

 
Like other states, North Carolina traffic laws treat bicycles as vehicles and treat 
bicyclists as drivers of vehicles. This article lists some of the most important traffic laws 
applicable to bicycle operation in North Carolina. For more detail and a list of all state 
traffic laws, consult the resources listed at the bottom of this article. 
NC Bicycle Laws on Vimeo. 
 
Bicyclists are Drivers of Vehicles 
§ 20-4.01(49) Vehicle. – …for the purposes of this Chapter bicycles shall be deemed 
vehicles and every rider of a bicycle upon a highway shall be subject to the provisions of 
this Chapter applicable to the driver of a vehicle except those which by their nature can 
have no application. 
 
As drivers of vehicles, bicyclists are allowed to travel on all public roadways except fully 
controlled access highways (freeways) such as interstates. NCAC 19A.2E.0409 
OPERATING NONMOTORIZED VEHICLES: It is unlawful for any person to ride any 
animal, or to operate a bicycle or horse drawn wagon or any nonmotorized vehicle or 
moped on any interstate or other fully controlled access highway. 
 
Bicycles are not Motor Vehicles 
§ 20-4.01(23) Motor Vehicle. – Every vehicle which is self-propelled …. 
 
Night Equipment 
§ 20-129.  Required lighting equipment of vehicles. (e) Lamps on Bicycles. – Every 
bicycle shall be equipped with a lighted lamp on the front thereof, visible under normal 
atmospheric conditions from a distance of at least 300 feet in front of such bicycle, and 
shall also be equipped with a reflex mirror or lamp on the rear, exhibiting a red light 
visible under like conditions from a distance of at least 200 feet to the rear of such 
bicycle, when used at night. 
 
First Come, First Served: Duty to Limit Speed and Slow for Slower Traffic Ahead 
§ 20-141.  Speed restrictions. (a) No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway or in a 
public vehicular area at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the 
conditions then existing. … (m) The fact that the speed of a vehicle is lower than the 
foregoing limits shall not relieve the operator of a vehicle from the duty to decrease 
speed as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person, vehicle or other 
conveyance on or entering the highway, and to avoid injury to any person or property. § 
20-140.  Reckless driving. (b) Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway or 
any public vehicular area without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a 
manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property shall be 
guilty of reckless driving. 
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Drive on Right Side of the Road 
§ 20-146.  Drive on right side of highway; exceptions. (a) Upon all highways of sufficient 
width a vehicle shall be driven upon the right half of the highway except as follows: 
(1) When overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction 
under the rules governing such movement; (2) When an obstruction exists making it 
necessary to drive to the left of the center of the highway; provided, any person so 
doing shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles traveling in the proper direction upon the 
unobstructed portion of the highway within such distance as to constitute an immediate 
hazard; (3) Upon a highway divided into three marked lanes for traffic under the rules 
applicable thereon; or (4) Upon a highway designated and signposted for one-way 
traffic. 
 
Stop/Yield Before Entering a More Important Roadway 
§ 20-158.  Vehicle control signs and signals. (b) Control of Vehicles at Intersections. – 
(1) When a stop sign has been erected or installed at an intersection, it shall be unlawful 
for the driver of any vehicle to fail to stop in obedience thereto and yield the right-of-way 
to vehicles operating on the designated main-traveled or through highway. When stop 
signs have been erected at three or more entrances to an intersection, the driver, after 
stopping in obedience thereto, may proceed with caution. (2) a. When a traffic signal is 
emitting a steady red circular light controlling traffic approaching an intersection, an 
approaching vehicle facing the red light shall come to a stop and shall not enter the 
intersection. After coming to a complete stop and unless prohibited by an appropriate 
sign, that approaching vehicle may make a right turn. b. Any vehicle that turns right 
under this subdivision shall yield the right-of-way to: 1. Other traffic and pedestrians 
using the intersection; and 2. Pedestrians who are moving towards the intersection, who 
are in reasonably close proximity to the intersection, and who are preparing to cross in 
front of the traffic that is required to stop at the red light. 
 
Yield before Moving Laterally 
§ 20-146.  (d) (1) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a 
single lane and shall not be moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained 
that such movement can be made with safety. 
 
Destination Positioning at Intersections 
§ 20-153.  Turning at intersections. (a) Right Turns. – Both the approach for a right turn 
and a right turn shall be made as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of 
the roadway. (b) Left Turns. – The driver of a vehicle intending to turn left at any 
intersection shall approach the intersection in the extreme left-hand lane lawfully 
available to traffic moving in the direction of travel of that vehicle, and, after entering the 
intersection, the left turn shall be made so as to leave the intersection in a lane lawfully 
available to traffic moving in the direction upon the roadway being entered. 
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Speed Positioning: Overtaking on Left 
§ 20-149.  Overtaking a vehicle. (a) The driver of any such vehicle overtaking another 
vehicle proceeding in the same direction shall pass at least two feet to the left thereof, 
and shall not again drive to the right side of the highway until safely clear of such 
overtaken vehicle. This subsection shall not apply when the overtaking and passing is 
done pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 20-150.1. 
 
Speed Positioning: Limitations on Overtaking on Right 
Bicyclists may not overtake other traffic on the right except when in a separate marked 
travel lane. § 20-150.1.  When passing on the right is permitted. The driver of a vehicle 
may overtake and pass upon the right of another vehicle only under the following 
conditions: (1) When the vehicle overtaken is in a lane designated for left turns; 
(2) Upon a street or highway with unobstructed pavement of sufficient width which have 
been marked for two or more lanes of moving vehicles in each direction and are not 
occupied by parked vehicles; (3) Upon a one-way street, or upon a highway on which 
traffic is restricted to one direction of movement when such street or highway is free 
from obstructions and is of sufficient width and is marked for two or more lanes of 
moving vehicles which are not occupied by parked vehicles; (4)        When driving in a 
lane designating a right turn on a red traffic signal light. (1953, c. 679.) 
 
Speed Positioning: Slower Traffic Use Right Thru Lane 
 20-146.  Drive on right side of highway; exceptions. (b) Upon all highways any vehicle 
proceeding at less than the legal maximum speed limit shall be driven in the right-hand 
lane then available for thru traffic, or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or 
edge of the highway, except when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding 
in the same direction or when preparing for a left turn. 

 
R4-11 sign (MUTCD) 
 
A bicyclist may use a full marked lane. “Bicyclists usually ride on the right side of the 
lane, but are entitled to use the full lane…. Drivers wishing to pass a bicyclist may do so 
only when there is abundant clearance and no oncoming traffic is in the opposing lane. 
When passing a bicyclist, always remember the bicyclist is entitled to use of the full 
lane.”   – North Carolina Driver’s Handbook, p.95.   
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Non-Motorized Vehicles Exempt from Impeding Traffic 
§ 20-141. (h) No person shall operate a motor vehicle on the highway at such a slow 
speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic except when 
reduced speed is necessary for safe operation or in compliance with law; provided, this 
provision shall not apply to farm tractors and other motor vehicles operating at 
reasonable speeds for the type and nature of such vehicles. 
 
Impaired Driving Law Applicable to Bicyclists 
§ 20-138.1.  Impaired driving. (a) Offense. – A person commits the offense of impaired 
driving if he drives any vehicle upon any highway, any street, or any public vehicular 
area within this State: (1) While under the influence of an impairing substance; or 
(2) After having consumed sufficient alcohol that he has, at any relevant time after the 
driving, an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more. The results of a chemical analysis 
shall be deemed sufficient evidence to prove a person’s alcohol concentration; or 
(3) With any amount of a Schedule I controlled substance, as listed in G.S. 90-89, or its 
metabolites in his blood or urine. 
 
Children under 16 Must Wear Helmets 
§ 20-171.9.  Requirements for helmet and restraining seat use. With regard to any 
bicycle used on a public roadway, public bicycle path, or other public right-of-way: (a) It 
shall be unlawful for any parent or legal guardian of a person below the age of 16 to 
knowingly permit that person to operate or be a passenger on a bicycle unless at all 
times when the person is so engaged he or she wears a protective bicycle helmet of 
good fit fastened securely upon the head with the straps of the helmet. (b) It shall be 
unlawful for any parent or legal guardian of a person below the age of 16 to knowingly 
permit that person to be a passenger on a bicycle unless all of the following conditions 
are met: (1) The person is able to maintain an erect, seated position on the bicycle. 
(2) Except as provided in subdivision (3) of this subsection, the person is properly 
seated alone on a saddle seat (as on a tandem bicycle). (3) With respect to any person 
who weighs less than 40 pounds, or is less than 40 inches in height, the person can be 
and is properly seated in and adequately secured to a restraining seat. 
 


