Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
The Register of Deeds is authorized by law to issue a certified copy of any deed recorded in the public registry. Refer to the Fee Schedule for copy fees.
Show All Answers
Visit the Deeds document inquiry website for document research.
No. You must contact an attorney or a paralegal under the supervision of an attorney for a title search.
To transfer names on a deed, a new deed must be prepared. Unless you are familiar with preparing legal documents, it is advisable to seek legal counsel.
If the map of your property is recorded in Orange County, you can obtain a copy from the Register of Deeds office. Submit the book and page number of the desired map. Refer to the Fee Schedule for plat copy fee.
A copy of your PLAT may be available online if not, you may come into our office and we will assist you in obtaining a copy.
In the parking deck immediately behind the Gateway Center building.
The Register of Deeds is located at:
228 S Churton Street, Suite 300Hillsborough, NC 27278
Our hours of operation are Monday through Friday form 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
View the requirements for obtaining a marriage license.
If you purchased your marriage license in Orange County, you may request a copy in person or by mail. For more Information, go to the Marriage License page.
A Driver's License with photograph, State issued Identification Card or a Passport.
Agents, attorneys, or legal representatives must also furnish documentation of authority in order to receive a certified copy of any type of certificate for an individual.
If your divorce was processed in Orange County, you may obtain a copy from the Orange County Clerk of Court's Office, located in the Orange County Courthouse.
The fee is $60, payable by cash, debit / credit card (*convenience fee will be applied; 2.5%, minimum $2), money order or certified bank check.
No. Applications are accepted daily from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (except for holidays).
Yes; however the marriage license must be returned to the County in which it was issued (example: If the marriage license was issued in Orange County, it must be returned to Orange County.)
It is valid immediately and remains valid for sixty days from the date of issuance.
No they are not.
Contact the magistrate, (Hillsborough - 919-644-4690 or Chapel Hill - 919-929-5707), during office hours 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The fee is $20.
Certified copies are $10 per copy.
Complete the proper Assumed Name form and pay appropriate recording fee. You may download a copy of these and other business forms at the Secretary of State's website.
View the Fees page for more information.
The current North Carolina excise tax stamps are $1 per $500 or fractional part of the value of the property conveyed. (Deeds recorded prior to August 1991, the excise tax was $1 per thousand.)
Obtain a Birth Certificate from the office.
Notary forms, including Notary Public Applications are available on the North Carolina Secretary of State's Notary Public website or you may pick up the form from either our office Secretary of State's Office, Notary Division 919-807-2131). When your Notary Commission is approved by the Secretary of State, you will receive a notice instructing you to appear in the Register of Deeds office to take your oath of office.
An appointment to take the Notary Oath is not necessary. Our office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays). Submit the notice received from the Secretary of State's Office to the Register of Deeds and your driver's license or other photo ID for identification. Refer to the Fee Schedule.